Steeped in Shenanigans 7.23.2020

The best of intentions get lost in massive stacks of books and large pots of tea. So here goes, I will embrace the concept of a somewhat spontaneous planned weekly post. What’s going on with me?

The last time I wrote a conversation post was back in April during the early weeks of shelter in place at home. I was determined to get back on the blog track. Easy since one is at home right? Well no, not quite. I still work (from home) full time and try to balance other responsibilities outside of work. My idea of fun can range from baking cakes, hosting Afternoon Tea Parties on Zoom, naps or nothing at all.

So if I may, let me quickly catch you up…

April

I started something on my Instagram Stories I call The Morning Steep. I share my morning cup of tea in a short pour video. I have gotten a lot of positive feedback and people enjoy the tea cups and sets. A recent favorite for me was this oneโ€”I take milk and cream in some teas and watching this pour felt particularly soothing & theraupitc.

The Morning Steep – Chocolate Chai Supreme

May

Attended my first Zoom Wedding. Found my anniversary gift in the trunk of my car which meant a lot of baking. ๐Ÿ’™ Baked two of these lemon cakes with lemon mascarpone frosting. Yes, I know the frosting doesn’t cover the whole cake, I was trying to make it look like the picture in the recipe book. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Lemon Cake with lemon mascarpone frosting

A lot of tea gifts from friends showed up on my doorstep. They really know how to make a girl smile. And you know what, it’s probably subtle encouragement to keep hosting these Zoom Tea Events. ๐Ÿค” Happily accepting that assignment.

June

An anniversary caravan with signs for friends! Social distancing can be fun! Received more tea from friends. More baking and more fun things on Zoom.

Just Add Honey Tea Gift Box

July

I started riding my bike again. Whew. It’s tough but fun!

I’ve hosted Zoom Tea Events the last few weekends as a fun way slow down and stay in touch with friends. Back in June, some lovely friends sent me a gift box (see above) of 3 different teas from Just Add Honey Tea. I sent them samples of each tea so we could taste them together and talk about each tea. A post with details on the teas? OK sure, you twisted my arm. I’ll plan to share in the next few days. We’re doing it again but someone else will send out the teas we will taste. Tentative Tasting Date, August 2020.

I’m still reading and sharing reviews here and there. My #SteepedInShortStories challenge is going well and so is #SteepedInBlackLitfromAtoZ, another reading project. I have just about finished all the letters. I am just trying to figure out how to post them here without spamming everyone.

And that’s just about it…what have you been up to?

Published by booksbythecup

Lover of good books and tea

8 thoughts on “Steeped in Shenanigans 7.23.2020

  1. That cake looks delicious!

    I have to make myself do a weekly post (on Fridays or Saturdays) or else it’s too easy for me to not post. And if I go a long time without posting, the harder it seems to get back into it. I’m glad to see you around!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! I also need to start scheduling some post in the WP app. That can help me be consistent and clean up some of my back log! It’s good to see you too. I’ve been keeping up with your Summer reading challenge and your doing a great job!

      Like

      1. I know! I remember. I just need to mark it on my calendar. I had such a good streak before everything last year with my dog! But looking forward Iโ€™ve already scheduled one ๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That anniversary caravan sounded like a good time! Actually, it sounds like you’ve kept pretty busy socially for our lockdown state. Virtual events are a real blessing right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was really nice th caravan. It was the 40th anniversary of some dear friends and they had planned a party before all of this. So another friend came up with this idea. Have bee trying to make the best of the lock down and you are right! A blessing to stay in touch but also take precautions to stay safe (at home).

      Like

  3. I’ve done four Zoom birthday parties so far. It’s lovely, but since they were all so early in the pandemic, it was hard. Now that I have two online book clubs and have been meeting bloggers on Hangouts video, I feel like I’m getting into the groove of doing online events and feeling like I’m actually there. I hadn’t heard of a Zoom wedding, though it sounds lovely โค

    Also, I just read this guest post on another blog and thought you might be interested: https://ivereadthis.com/2020/07/23/guest-post-reading-my-way-to-resilience-how-i-created-sues-stokvel/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment