Kyusu (Teapot) Review: Lessons During Tea Time

Steep time with new teaware! Thank you Umi Tea Sets for the gifted teapot!

SERIOUSLY Tea

Those who know me are well aware I take my tea very seriously. Before pandemic life, if traveling, I pack my own loose tea. If it’s dust in a bag, I’ll kindly pass. #teamlooseleaf everyday.

As my tea journey continues, I’m often surprised at how complex tea can be. Tea—like life—can teach you a lot of lessons when you slow down and listen. Engage your senses.

Receiving new teaware always excites me, but imagine discovering a new experience with teaware seasoned over time. I’m talking about receiving what I thought was my very first, kyusu, which means “teapot” in Japanese. After some research, the one in this post is technically called Yokode Kyusu, meaning side-handled teapot. This particular kyusu from Umi Tea Sets is unglazed (I’ll explain in a moment), so I am very “green” or inexperienced (pun intended). I never imagined trying an unglazed kyusu, but here we are.

I might also add, while doing a visual inventory of my teapots to write this post, I discovered this is not my first kyusu. I have a Ushirode Kyusu, meaning back-handle teapot. It’s glazed (non porous) & more versatile than the one I’m discussing in this post. I also have a few Uwade Kyusu, meaning top-handle teapots, or also known as Testubins, or Japanese Kettles, aka cast iron teapots, one of which is unglazed. (Who knew 🤷🏽‍♀️). Don’t judge me about my teaware. Tea is a serious, but enjoyable, undertaking. Proceed accordingly.

Pouring tea from Kyusu

Lessons During Tea Time

It’s taken me some time and space to learn from my experience with the (yokode) kyusu pairing with some pure (unflavored) green teas. What an experience I’ve had, learning a few things in the process. Here are 4 🫖 lessons I want to share.

🫖 I’M GREEN!

While most people say they don’t like green tea because it’s bitter, often times your water and steep time are too hot & long. Lesson: less is more. Lower water temperature & shorter steep time result in a better green tea experience. Now apply that principle when it comes to the amount of water to tea ratio with this kyusu.

🫖 LESS (water) IS MORE!

This kyusu holds about 7 ounces (oz). The unglazed interior allows the pot to absorbs the flavors of the tea over time to enhance & enrich future steeps. Why have I waited so long to try this? That’s steeping ridiculous! But better late than never, right?

For the past 8 months, thanks to a good friend, I’ve been using a higher tea to water ratio & this kyusu makes that an easy thing to do. I use about 6oz for my steeps in the kyusu. After steeping the tea, I use a fairness cup to make sure I remove all the tea from the kyusu before my next steep.

🫖 PURE “GREEN” TEA IS MY CUP OF TEA!

Honestly, I never considered dedicating a teapot for a specific type of tea but now it seems like the only way to steep! Every steep gets better. I’ve discovered a natural sweetness in green tea I hadn’t experienced before. My current green tea stash will be getting an overhaul soon. Some food pairings will be something I spend more time tea-searching soon! Do you have any recommendations?

🫖 PRACTICE GENEROSITY #GenerosiTEA

Tea leaves are very generous. We should look for #opportuniTEAs to do the same. The #possibiliteas of enriching my steeps are endless. My journey continues, with room to grow & expand, like tea leaves unfurling during a quiet steep.

What tea(s) & teaware helped you discover something about yourself & the tea? What memorable tea moment have you enjoyed recently & why was it so meaningful?

Published by booksbythecup

Lover of good books and tea

3 thoughts on “Kyusu (Teapot) Review: Lessons During Tea Time

  1. It makes sense that you should separate your pots for green and black teas because when you make flavored vs. unflavored coffee, you’re not supposed to mix up the pots. At least, this is what I learned in my nine days of working at a bakery cafe! Ha.

    I’ve definitely had green tea that was wonderful, got caught up chatting with friends, refilled my cup, and it was horribly bitter. The longer the green tea sits, the more bitter it gets.

    Like

Leave a comment