My week in books and tea 8.11.19

This week’s editon is different for a few reasons. I’ve been out of town and read very little while away. I’m still a bit jet lagged so trying to formulate complete thoughts could potentially go awry.

As I thought about jumping back into the weekly post routine, I wanted to try this instead. Since I’ve shared something about every book below in the weekly books and tea posts for July, I thought it might be fun to revisit the books by sharing a quote I liked from each book instead. Let me know what you think in the comments below.


“Of silence, her mother had been master. Entering rooms, as carefully as if each one held a bomb, hesitating on the threshold, moving quietly inside a conversation, quietly out.” – The Guest Book


“She possessed the gift of walking into hearts.” – Zora and Langston: A Story of Friendship and Betrayal


“Under his touch things deep down in her struggled to the light and sprang up like flowers in sunshine.” – Summer


“Never in my life had I seen such a boring movie. I chewed nine consecutive sticks of gum, to remind myself I was still alive.” – The Idiot


“I think of my life as a kind of music, not always good music but still having form and melody. And my life has not been a full orchestra for a long time. A single note only—and that note unchanging sorrow.” – East of Eden


“Men are the weak ones, luv. Didn’t you know? Oh, you make a lot of noise, but it’s the women who are strong. Where it counts. In ‘ere.” – The Tea Rose

Full Review


“How to get through the day if every indignity capsized you in a ditch? One learned to focus one’s attention.” – The Nickel Boys


“And was there ever such a hopeful beginning to a day, and so full of promise for the subsequent right passing of its hours, as breakfast in the garden, alone with your teapot and your book!” – The Solitary Summer


Do any of these quotes make you curious about the books? Which books would you like to hear more about? Do you like the idea of my sharing something like this at the end of each month, to see all the books in one post? Just thinking out loud…

Published by booksbythecup

Lover of good books and tea

4 thoughts on “My week in books and tea 8.11.19

Leave a comment