July & August – Reads

I mentioned on Books and Tea this weekend about upcoming buddy reads so I wanted to share them here. Let me know if you’re interested in any of them.


Summer by Edith Wharton

For our ‘Seasons by the Book’ club, we’ve selected one of the author’s lesser known works, but controversial when examining the life of protagonist, Charity Royall. A perfect summer selection.

The Plan: Start July 1 and discuss at the end of the month


East of Eden by John Steinbeck

After reading 10 of Steinbeck’s books, I’m excited about revisiting my first and favorite. I’m teaming up with boookstabuddy Kaitlin @bookedandready, who I met when I joined her readalong of East of Eden years ago. 

The Plan:  Start date July 1. East of Eden is divided into 4 parts, with plans for a weekly discussion, each weekend in July.


Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina has been silently  taunting me since reading War and Peace almost 2 years ago. I wasn’t eager to read my next Tolstoy but after chatting with my Tolstoy buddy readers from War and Peace, we’re taking on #AnnaInAugust19 to get #TipsyAfterTolstoy.

Many have said Anna Karenina is easier to read than War and Peace.  I do hope that proves true.

The Plan:  Anna Karenina is divided into 8 parts so we plan to start in August and read through September. Weekly or bi-weekly discussions, TBD.


Please comment below and let me know if you are interested in joining for any of the books mentioned. Or if you’ve read any of these, task me what you think about them.

Published by booksbythecup

Lover of good books and tea

13 thoughts on “July & August – Reads

  1. When are you thinking of reading East of Eden? I’m planning on reading it too, but probably won’t get to it till October-ish or even November. Need to get back on top of various review books first.

    Like

  2. I read East of Eden years ago and very much enjoyed it. Funny, I just unhauled my copy of Anna Karenina to the Friends of the Library. I decided that, while it still remains on my Classics Club list, seeing my ancient copy on my shelf just makes me feel guilty for not reading it. I’ve had it for YEARS. I figure I can always borrow it from the library or buy another copy when I do decide to read it. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now that I’ve read other Steinbeck books, to read East of Eden again makes me excited because I can remember thinking I wouldn’t like it the first time around. As for Anna Karenina, I believe I picked mine up second hand not long before I started War and Peace. But your right, so many books are available at the library and I imagine there wouldn’t be a wait list for a copy. I’m trying to decide how I want to share that one when I start reading it but I have some time to think it over.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 🙂 I know, probably sacrilegious of me! I had had that edition (mass market paperback) since like 2003, and it was just sitting there mocking me. I realized that if I want to read it, I need to find another edition and I can easliy obtain it from the library system since I work there.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. I will also be reading “East of Eden” this July! I so envy people that have not read “Anna Karenina” yet 🙂 Uh, I wish I could read it again as though for the first time. One of the greatest – if not the greatest book of all time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy to hear you’re reading East of Eden. I plan to sit down with lots of tea and Part 1 tomorrow. When are you starting? I’d enjoy chatting with you about it if you’re interested. The more I talk about Anna Karenina, the more excited I get. So many people have said it’s one of their favorites. After War and Peace, I do feel like no book is impossible

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can start “East of Eden” today 4th July, and I am too interested in your opinion. It will be my first reading, however. Will you be holding weakly discussions on the book on this website? I can join in the discussion, if you will have me 🙂 Anna Karenina is an easier read than War and Peace, and it is my favourite book.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I didn’t plan to have a weekly discussion here, it will be on Instagram which I can link in my weekly wrap up. But- I’m not opposed to doing it here if you’d be interested or prefer that. Let me know because it would be wonderful to have you join! 😉

        Like

Leave a comment